ste

Charlie recently moved to Chicago after completing his BA in Acting at Point Park University in Pittsburgh, and is delighted to making his Chicago debut as Ste in Beautiful Thing. Previous stage credits include Peter in The Diary of Anne Frank, Randy Anderson in The Outsiders, Lonnie in A Dead Man’s Apartment, Wendel P. Bloyd in Spoon River, and Dante in the Pittsburgh premiere of Off-Color Remarks for which he won an award for best supporting actor.  Film credits include Warrior, All in a Nights Work, The Dark Knight Rises.

Full Birth Name: Charles Nathan Wein

Hometown: Pittsburgh Pennsylvania

Age you became interested in theatre: Young enough that I can’t remember

Favorite show you worked on: Toyer by Gardner McKay

Most memorable moment while working on a show: My pants ripping at the end of Diary of Anne Frank.  I had to hold my pants up desperately while the Nazi’s were invading

Mentors or inspirations: Too many to list really, Cillian Murphy is my favorite actor, I aspire to be as versatile an actor as he is.

On a show day, how early do you arrive at the theatre: About 45 minutes to an Hour

Dressing room must-have: Ipod, need to be very much in my head before a show.

A show and role you would like to do: Reverend Hale in The Crucible is a dream role of mine. I’d kill to play Sam in Richard Nash’s Echoes someday too.

If you were in NY for 4 hours what show would you see: I have a couple friends on Broadway who’s shows I’d love to see

The best part of waking up is: Folgers in your cup

If you could change your first name, what would you change it to: I like my name, but I always thought Rasputin would be a cool name to explain to people

Favorite food: Chicken Pot Pie

If you could meet a Broadway legend, living or dead, who would you meet: I don’t know if he counts as a Broadway legend but I plan on meeting Mel Brooks whether he’s alive or dead.

Worst costume: My see through purple leotard for Seussical

First stage kiss: Anne Frank

One lesson you have learned while working in the theatre: “Just take the coaching”

Most unplanned moment or funniest unscripted moment that happened to you while onstage: During our rumble in The Outsiders I was supposed to have my head slammed on a bench before I punch the guy in the groin and crawl off stage.  One day he actually slammed my head on the bench. The Audience loved it.

Pre-show ritual:  That’s private!

Biggest pet peeve: People who say “I could care less” when they mean “I couldn’t care less”

One piece of advice for those who are aspiring to work in the theatre: Stop aspiring and just start doing it!

Leave a Reply

